You’ve always been careful to avoid drinking and driving. However, during the holidays, you let loose a little when visiting some close friends. You had a few beers and a cocktail or two. Then of course, police pulled you over on your way home. Now, you are facing DWI charges and don’t know how stiff the consequences will be.
Minnesota first-time DWI penalties
In Minnesota, for those charged with driving while under the influence (DWI) with a .08-.16 blood alcohol content, a first-time DWI offense will include the following penalties:
- Paying up to a $1,000 fine
- Spending up to 90 days in jail
- Having your driver’s license revoked for 30 days to one year
You will face increased penalties if your blood alcohol content (BAC) registered at .16 or above. Those include paying up to a $3,00 fine, losing your license for a year and spending a year in jail.
Ignition interlock installation
If this is your second DWI offense or you had a .16 BAC upon your DWI arrest, you can choose to participate in Minnesota’s ignition interlock device program. By having an ignition interlock device installed, your can avoid a driver’s license suspension. The ignition interlock will test your blood alcohol content before allowing your vehicle ignition to work.
When facing DWI charges
Anytime you face DWI charges, you should consult an experienced criminal defense attorney. An attorney can review your drunk driving charges and work to reduce the penalties you’ll face. You may be able to even have your charges dismissed or reduced, allowing you to move forward with your life without a DWI on your record.